top of page

Centre for Autism and Related Disorders Celebrates 20 years with Star-Studded, Red Carpet Gala

Wednesday, Sept 29, 2010

The Center for Autism and Related Disorders, Inc. (CARD), the world's largest autism treatment center, announces success with its 20th Anniversary Gala, celebrating 20 years of leading the way in the effective treatment of autism. The event, benefiting ACT Today! (Autism Care and Treatment Today), was held on Saturday, September 25, 2010 at the legendary Park Plaza Hotel, 607 S. Park View Street, in Los Angeles.

"This star-studded, charity event drew 500 supporters including community leaders, leading autism researchers and therapists from around the nation, children who have recovered from autism through CARD's treatment programs; as well as celebrities from film, television, and sports," says Event Producer Daphne Plump.

One in 110 children is diagnosed with autism in America. The neurological disorder is more prevalent than pediatric cancer, juvenile diabetes and AIDS combined. "Autism is a global issue that challenges the very fiber of humanity," says Grammy winner Macy Gray, who performed a mini-concert at the gala's post party. "As a mother and artist, I support families and communities struggling to secure treatment while preserving dignity. I support CARD and ACT Today! for making therapies available to those who lack the financial means."

Guests who walked the red carpet included: Macy Gray (Grammy-winning artist), Dr. Doreen Granpeesheh (world-renowned autism expert), Emmy winner Archie Panjabi ("The Good Wife"), Actor Max Burkholder (Emmy-nominated show "Parenthood"), Dr. Jim Sears ("The Doctors" talk show), Tila Tequila (reality star), actress Ariel Winters ("Modern Family), Kyle Massey ("Dancing With the Stars"), actress Lorraine Toussaint ("Saving Grace"), actor Barry Shabaka Henley ("Flash Forward), Taylor Armstrong ("Real Housewives of Beverly Hills), Won-G (International Rap Artist), actor C.S. Lee ("Dexter"), Janna (recovered from autism), Brett (recovered from autism), 2 U Neek (Disney stars), The Miracle Project kids ("Autism: the Miracle"), as well as experts in the field of autism.

Gala Honorary Committee Members include Los Angeles Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa, Kelsey Grammer, Howie Mandel, Joe Mantegna, Camryn Manheim, Jane Kaczmarek, Ken and Linda Howard, Annette O'Toole, John Salley, the Dixie Chicks, Antonio Sabato, Jr., Jerry Penacoli, John Mendoza, Charles Downes, Leeza Gibbons, Ron Masak, Leven Rambin, Tom Bergeron, and Mariel Hemingway.

Posted by D.Plump Consulting


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page